Report Gagandeep Kang, MD, PhD, FRCPath members

Executive Director

Translational Health Science and Technology Institute, Government of India


Gagandeep Kang, MD, PhD is the Executive Director, Translational Health Science Technology Institute (THISTI), an autonomous institute of the Department of Biotechnology, Ministry of Science & Technology, Government of India. Over two decades, she has built a research program that has conducted key studies to understand enteric infectious diseases in impoverished communities. Working in partnership with non-governmental organizations and the government, she has carried out phase I-III studies of rotaviral vaccines and provided laboratory support for vaccine development in India and for other developing countries. With the Indian Council for Medical Research and the World Health Organization, she has supported the establishment of networks of sentinel hospitals and laboratories that carry out surveillance for rotavirus disease in children and ancillary studies. Dr. Kang has published over 250 papers in national and international journals. She is an Associate Editor for PLoS Neglected Tropical Diseases and for Tropical Medicine and International Health and is on several review committees for national and international research funding agencies.

She is a member of Product Development Vaccine Advisory Committee of WHO and chairs the Immunization Technical Advisory Group (ITAG) for the WHO’s South East Asian Region. She is an Independent Director of Hilleman Laboratories, a partnership established to make affordable vaccines by Merck and the Wellcome Trust.

Dr. Kang obtained her MD and PhD degrees from the Christian Medical College Vellore, India. Her groundbreaking work has been recognized with numerous awards and honors. These include Woman Bioscientist of the Year from the Government of India (2006); election to Fellowship of the American Academy of Microbiology (2010), the Indian Academy of Sciences (2011), National Academy of Sciences (2013), the Faculty of Public Health in the UK (2015), and the Indian National Science Academy (2016).